Executive Director Amy (McKenna) Gilford and her family.

Why MREC exists - In 2004 Carroll County was experiencing some of the highest divorce rates in the nation. 

Retired Carroll County Public School teachers, Bill and Anne McKenna were particularly concerned about the impact of divorce and the breakdown of family on the lives of children.

 As teachers (Bill was also a coach) they saw the effect broken homes had on kids and their ability to perform at school. As members of the community they saw the growing hurt as many families around them struggled. Their concerns were shared by numerous community leaders.

Because of the great need, with encouragement from the local ministerium, elected officials, business owners, and others, their local church marriage ministry to marriages and families became a community initiative in November of 2004. 

What we now know as MREC  is the state and county’s first nonprofit organization established to strengthen marriages and families.

Our Founders - Retired Carroll County Public School educators, Bill and Anne McKenna, have been married 54 years. They have four children and 12 grandchildren. Bill spent over 30 years teaching, coaching, and as an athletic director prior to the founding of MREC, formerly, The Marriage Resource Center of Carroll County. The McKennas are certified in multiple marriage education programs and love working with couples.  They started their work in marriage education by developing a marriage ministry in their local church. As the word spread to other churches, they decided, with the encouragement of the local ministerium and other community leaders, to form an independent organization that utilizes a proactive approach to strengthening families.  



Numerous other dedicated individuals assist us on committees and special events                      throughout the year including college and high school interns.


             Bill Barton - Chairman                                       Patrick McCarthy      

             Vic-chair -                                                     Steve Speights                    

             Roni McCarthy - Secretary                                  Craig Vogel

             Coleen Kramer Beal -Treasurer                          

             Ed Williar                                                        




 Proud members of: